Sad music of humanity

Boars Tusk-017

For I have learned to look on nature, not as in the hour of thoughtless youth, but hearing oftentimes the still, sad music of humanity.” ~William Wordsworth

As I drink coffee and prepare for Saturday’s leisure activities, my soul lingers on Paris. How can we go about our weekend routines of laughter and games and other recreational pursuits while a city and its people reel from tragedy? How can we separate our minds and souls, our humanity, from the manifest hatred while we pursue mundane activities like watching sport? I know, and understand, that terrorism seeks to disrupt and cause people to doubt and hand over their normal routines to fear. And I know that we’d do well to resist the inclination to pull back. But, when the sad music of humanity plays ugly notes, I find it impossible to not linger and acknowledge the heartbreak and loss experienced by fellow humans. I suppose that’s what it means to say things like “Today, I am Paris.”

Today, my soul is in Paris.

2 thoughts on “Sad music of humanity

Your thoughts?

